Steveo's books

Blink
Outliers: The Story of Success
Buyology: Truth and Lies About Why We Buy and the New Science of Desire
The Shack
The Ragamuffin Gospel: Good News for the Bedraggled, Beat-Up, and Burnt Out
The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth am I Here for?
The Prayer of Jabez:  Breaking Through to the Blessed Life
My Utmost for His Highest: Traditional Updated Edition
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
90 Minutes in Heaven
Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God
A Wrinkle in Time
The Six Sigma Way
A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life
The Hole in Our Gospel: What does God expect of Us?  The Answer that Changed my Life and Might Just Change the World
The Hunger Games
Mere Christianity
Cash: The Autobiography
Catching Fire


Steveo's favorite books »
}

Monday, May 23, 2011

Review of Curiosities of the Civil War

Curiosities of the Civil War by Webb Garrison has a ton of information about you guess it the Civil War. It has been is the 150th years since the civil war and this is an outstanding read to get to know the most significant event that has defined and shaped this nation.

This book is divided into 9 different sections. This gives you the latitude to read the book in any order you want. My favorite sections were the “The Unusual and Bizarre” and “Notorious and Nonesuch”.

This book will take you awhile to read but that is not bad. With all the information and wide range of topics this will truly enlighten you on the civil war.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Review If God, Why Evil

If God,Why Evil? by Dr. Norman Geisler is a book about evil and God. Let me begin by saying I had a very different view of God and evil before reading this book. I viewed Him as a God of not being good all the time because of everything that goes on in life (hurting people, sickness, wars, abortion, death, etc…). Now my views include: God is love, God is just, God is good, God is perfect etc…

Also, I somehow believed that God created evil which is totally wrong. God is good so that means he cannot create evil. God gave the angels as well as humans a free will so satan choose his evil doings on his own. And this caused a great downward effect on this universe. I know God can fix it but we have to be patient with His timing.

This book will totally change your view of God and evil. Dr Geisler breaks down some complex topics to simple and direct terms. Great book to keep in your library.

Bethany House gave me this book free.



Monday, April 18, 2011

Max on Life

Max on Life by Max Lucado is a great resource of answers to some of life’s common questions. This book is divided up into various topical sections. So you can read this book cover to cover or skip around to questions that interest you in a certain topic. I really like this book because I have a lot of questions and I did find some of them in this book. This book will absolutely be on my book shelf for years to come just in case I am in need of answer. Overall this book has humor, insight and wisdom for every reader.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Blood Ranson Review

Blood Ransom is a fast pace book that takes you on an adventure in Africa. Since the author, Lisa Harris, lives in Africa, she does a great job of giving the reader a feel of African life, culture and struggles. While doing this, she provides a great story on how two people decide to help a boy and find themselves in a bigger situation. As the story unfolds, you ask yourself some difficult questions: “Is it worth getting involved?”, “Would you be willing to lay down your life?”, etc… There is a little bit of romance in this book but that does not overshadow the drama and suspense in this book. Overall this book is a very enjoyable read.

Zondervan sent me this book for free

Monday, April 11, 2011

The Final Summit Review

The Final Summit by Andy Andrews is a fascinating journey of finding a principle to save the human race. The main character is given the task of discovering this principle. But he is not the only one to figure out this huge discovery. Let’s just say historical figures of the past come into play in helping him. They have a small amount of time to figure out their quest for the answer so every second counts.


This book had me hook with in the first few pages. It is a fast read and very well written. I enjoyed the adventure of finding the principle. It felt like I was enjoying the present as well as the past. If you like history, adventure, thought provoking substance or trying to make yourself a better person this book is definitely for you.



Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Monday, February 21, 2011

While the World Watched

While the World Watched, is a story about a survivor, Carolyn McKinstry, of the Birmingham bombing. History books do not do justice for what happened doing the civil right movement but a book like this penetrates a person deep so they will not forget. I truly believe that history could or would be repeated if a person does not become astute about it. Having grown up in Texas and moved to Alabama a few years ago I was not fully aware of the tragedy that happened in Birmingham and other areas (cities and states). This book opened my eyes to apart of America history that is really unpleasant. By no means should this history be hidden but people with courage like Carolyn McKinstry these stories and history will never be forgotten.

The first-hand account of Carolyn McKinstry gives the read a glance of life during the civil rights movement. It shows how parents tried to protect their families, how children tried to live a “normal” life and how awful people can be to other people. Another aspect of the book I liked was the incorporation of speeches, Kennedys and Martin Luther King Jr, during that time of frame. I would recommend this book to everyone.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Review of Sun Stand Still

Sun Stand Still is a book about praying big prayers. This at times is not a feel good book but a book to push you over the edge to expect big things from God. Steven Furtick uses the verses in Joshua 10 to illustrate how can God take a simple prayer and turn it into a big solution. Some of the ideas in the book are new ones and some are just package different. The package different is not bad because we all learn in different ways. I really enjoyed this book and being stretched. The one chapter I liked the most is near the end of the book. It gives you guidelines to Sun Stand Still prayers. It is a great book easy to read but not a feel good book.

WaterBrook Multnomah has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

Review - City on Our Knees

I love the song and now I love the book, City On Our Knees by Toby Mac. The cover of the book is awesome it is green with a city skyline. This book is filled with people doing small things that end up being big things. It is divided into four sections by the song lyrics which tie the song and the book together very nicely. This is an easy read. You can skip around or read it start through. This will be a book I will reread again. Get this book you will not be disappointed.

Please note I received a free copy from Bethany House.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Review of the Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible

The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible offers several ways to study the bible. It has a devotional index, a two-year reading plan, lessons throughout the text and a study for new believers. This study bible is very functional and can be tailor to the way you want to study. Each page has a very clean look to it with a trace of color for great eye appeal. The only drawback is the page numbering location which is in the top middle of the page. This is very minor and takes some getting used to but will not distract you from the overall use of this bible. I highly recommend the study bible.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

The Charlaton's Boy review

The Charlatan's Boy takes a reader in to a world of people trying to make a living by using people and hustling them. The main character of the story is a young boy not knowing his parents and having a low self-esteem but having adventure of a life time. During his adventure he starts to figure out life and who he is. This book is very well written about this boy trying to find himself. This book is deep but is not too deep at the same time for young readers. Most of us can relate to some of the experiences that the main character is going though. It is not over the top in your face about issues but is written is a way to get you thinking about things in your own life. This is a great and easy read and cannot wait for the next book in this series.

WaterBrook Multnomah has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

Review of In His Image Bible

In His Image Devotional Bible NLT is very well organized. You can take one of God’s images and read about it through the whole bible or just start from the beginning and read. There are over 300 references to God’s image so you can do one a day reading or go at your own pace. One of the big things I like is now I know where to find these different images of God in scriptures. This will help someone to memorize verses with the same topic. The one thing I had to get use to is the placing of the page numbers. They are not on the outside of the pages but in the middle of the pages. Once you realize where the placing of the page numbers are it really is not a big deal. Overall this a great study bible.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.